Filmfare Fundas 2009

MissMalini , 16 Feb 2009

award_l_011It’s that time of the year again where Bollywood gets ready, set go to toot its own horns. (I wonder if this year’s hosts will take a dig at all the filmy face offs happening this year.) I dug up a few candid shots from last year’s hooplah. Enjoy!

Shahrukh Khan and Saif Ali Khan hosting the 53rd Filmfare Awards
Shahrukh Khan and Saif Ali Khan hosting the 53rd Filmfare Awards
Abhishek Bachchan and Aishwarya Rai Bachchan
Abhishek Bachchan and Aishwarya Rai Bachchan
Kareena Kapoor and Saif Ali Khan
Kareena Kapoor and Saif Ali Khan

Meanwhile Filmfare has announced who’s up for dibs on statutes for the best talent in Bollywood for 54th Idea Filmfare Awards; and the nominees (in alphabetical order) are:


  1. Dostana
  2. Ghajini
  3. Jaane Tu… Ya Jaane Na
  4. Jodhaa Akbar
  5. Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi
  6. Rock On!!


  1. A.R. Murugadoss          Ghajini
  2. Abhishek Kapoor          Rock On!!
  3. Aditya Chopra              Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi
  4. Ashutosh Gowariker   Jodhaa Akbar
  5. Madhur Bhandarkar  Fashion


1. Aamir Khan                           Ghajini
2. Abhishek Bachchan            Dostana
3. Akshay Kumar                     Singh Is Kinng
4. Hrithik Roshan                     Jodhaa Akbar
5. Naseeruddin Shah               A Wednesday
6. Shah Rukh Khan                  Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi


1. Aishwarya Rai Bachchan  Jodhaa Akbar
2. Anushka Sharma                 Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi
3. Asin Thottumkal                  Ghajini
4. Kajol                                         U Me Aur Hum
5. Priyanka Chopra                  Fashion


1. Abhishek Bachchan             Sarkar Raj
2. Arjun Rampal                       Rock On!!
3. Prateik Babbar                      Jaane Tu… Ya Jaane Na
4. Sonu Sood                                Jodhaa Akbar
5. Tusshar Kapoor                      Golmaal Returns
6. Vinay Pathak                         Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi


1. Bipasha Basu                          Bachna Ae Haseeno
2. Kangna Ranaut                     Fashion
3. Kirron Kher                            Dostana
4. Ratna Pathak Shah              Jaane Tu… Ya Jaane Na
5. Shahana Goswami                Rock On!!


1. A R Rahman                            Ghajini
2. A R Rahman                            Jaane Tu… Ya Jaane Na
3. A R Rahman                            Jodhaa Akbar
4. Pritam Chakraborty             Race
5. Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy            Rock On!!
6. Vishal-Shekhar                      Dostana


1. Abbas Tyrewala                     Kabhi kabhi Aditi – Jaane Tu… Ya Jaane Na
2. Gulzar                                       Tu meri dost hai – Yuvvraaj
3. Jaideep Sahni                         Haule haule – Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi
4. Javed Akhtar                         Jashn-e-bahara – Jodhaa Akbar
5. Javed Akhtar                         Socha hai – Rock On!!
6. Prasoon Joshi                         Guzarish – Ghajini


1. Farhan Akhtar                      Socha hai – Rock On!!
2. KK                                              Khuda jaane – Bachna Ae Haseeno
3. KK                                              Zara si dil mein – Jannat
4. Rashid Ali                               Kabhi kabhi Aditi – Jaane Tu… Ya Jaane Na
5. Sonu Niigaam                        Inn lamhon ke – Jodhaa Akbar
6. Sukhwinder Singh               Haule haule – Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi


1. Alka Yagnik                            Tu muskura – Yuvvraaj
2. Neha Bhasin                          Kuch khaas hai – Fashion
3. Shilpa Rao                              Khuda jaane – Bachna Ae Haseeno
4. Shreya Ghoshal                    Teri ore – Singh is Kinng
5. Shruti Pathak                        Mar jaawan – Fashion
6. Sunidhi Chauhan                 Dance pe chance – Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi

(The 54th Idea Filmfare Awards will be held on the 28th of February in Mumbai. To watch trailers and follow the action click here.)


  • At first, the awards were called Clares after Clare Mendonca, the Times of India film critic who died the year of the first awards, 1954. However, the name didn’t stick.
  • The guest of honor at the first ever awards (March 21, 1954 at the Metro theater, Mumbai) was to be Gregory Peck. He couldn’t make it–his flight from Colombo, where he was on location for Purple Plain, was delayed. But he did attend the banquet that followed at the Willingdon Sports Club.
  • In 1969 Sunil Dutt who lost it to Dilip Kumar in the Best Actor category organized a party for the thespian after the awards function. This started the trend of post-award parties.
  • In 1975 Yash Chopra’s Deewaar swept all the awards except for the lead actor Amitabh Bachchan.
  • Also surprisingly the biggest blockbuster hit Sholay won only one Filmfare Award in 1975 and that too for Best Editing.
  • In the first Filmfare Awards ceremony, held in 1954, only five awards were presented – for the best film, the best director, the best actor, the best actress and the best music director.
  • The awards for lyricists and playback singers started only after 5 years of the inception of awards.
  • Till 1966 there was no separate award for male and female playback singers.
  • Lata Mangeshkar refused to accept her first Filmfare award because the Filmfare statuette was designed in the shape of a woman and the woman had no clothes on. Since Lataji had reservations in accepting that nude statuette th award had to be wrapped with a handkerchief to be granted to Lataji.
  • In 2006, Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s movie ‘Black’ won 11 Filmfare awards, the most awards won by a movie in the history of Filmfare Awards.
  • Best Music director was the only category in the Music genre that started with the birth of Filmfare Awards in 1953.
  • The top five Music Directors on the basis of number of times they have won the award are:  Shankar-Jaikishen – 9, Laxmikant-Pyarelal – 7, A.R. Rehman – 5, Nadeem-Shravan – 4 and R.D.Burman – 3.
  • Javed Akhtar set a record in 2004 when all the five songs chosen for the Best Lyrics category were written by him.
  • The Doordarshan had an objection with Amitabh Bachchan’s performance on the Jumma Chumma number on the Filmfare Awards event as the movie Hum had not yet been released by then and the song remained uncensored. The channel threatened to sue Filmfare for this but the matter subsequently dissolved.
  • In 1991 Dimple Kapadia gave a special award to husband Rajesh Khanna for completing 26 years in the film industry. In the same year Gulzar gave an award to his ex-wife Rakhee in the Best Supporting Actress category for Ram Lakhan and while handing over the trophy Gulzar in a very mischievous fashion said to Rakhee, “Aji Sunti Ho”.
  • After winning numerous awards singer Lata Mangeshkar voluntary ousted herself from the Filmfare awards nominations so that fresh talents can get a chance. And after decades, in 1995, Lata Mangeshkar accepted the Best Playback Singer award for Hum Aapke Hai Kaun once again on popular demand.
  • Vyajayantimala didn’t accept the award for Devdas in the Best Supporting Actress category because she thought she was the lead actress of the film and not Suchitra Sen.
  • In the 25th year of Filmfare Award ceremony, the statue was made of silver, while in the 50th year of its celebration, gold status were given.
  • They have their own set of Filmfare Awards down south called Filmfare Awards South. (Now while that’s totally legit I can’t help but think its because the Bollywood fashion police may go ballistic if they were to see someone dressed like this walk down the red carpet!)

Related Stories

Related Stories

More Showbiz